CrossFit Day 2 is Complete!

Jess, my friend Aaron, and I completed the second day of our three-day CrossFit Elements course today bright and early at 6am.  So far we have learned proper technique for everything from pushups, squats, deadlifts, and push presses, to all the variations in between, like the jerk press.  A lot of this is review for me, since I was an avid lifter in high school, but it is definitely good to have the refresher.  Also, some of the lifts I have never really done, so it’s important to get the proper form to reduce my risk for injury.  The rest of the people in my Elements class have very limited experience with weight lifting, and it is really cool to see them learning and gaining confidence with the movements.  I hope that all of them stick with it!

Last night, we took Cassius to Redbud Isle Park on Lake Austin.  They have a really nice off-leash area there, and I was able to go into the water to play fetch with Cassius in the lake.  It was his first time to really swim, and he took to it like a fish!  We swam and played fetch in the water for over an hour, and he loved every minute of it.  This will end up being a really great way to tire him out.  With Jess and I working all day, he doesn’t get enough exercise during the day, so I try to make it a point to take him out to run around several times per week.  We are really lucky here in Austin to have a ton of wonderful dog parks, packed with friendly people and (mostly) friendly pups.

Cassius at 4 months.

Cassius at 4 months.

As an aside, football season is rapidly approaching!  With the Hall of Fame game on Sunday, I’m already getting excited!  It’s the most wonderful time of the year!

Leave a Reply

