CrossFit Level I – First Day

Well, the pain has begun.  We started the actual CrossFit workouts today at 6:30am, and it was much, much more intense than the Elements class we took last week.  The instructor was still very technique-conscious with us (since it is a beginner level class) but it was definitely intense.  We started with the typical warmup with jumping jacks, running in place and with high knees, squats, pushups, lunges, and a 400m run.  To be quite honest, I was slightly winded after all that.  Then the actual workout began.

We started with a 400m run, then moved to 20 medicine ball cleans, 20 situps, and 20 ring rows, then ran 400m.  Then, we did the same exercises with 15 reps, and ran another 400m at the end of the workout.  Most people in the class finished the last exercises, but nobody had time to complete the final 400m run.  All-in-all, the total of a mile running, and all the exercises, left us red-faced and winded, but it seemed as though everyone had a good time.

I am definitely sore in some new and interesting exercises, but I really enjoyed being taken out of my workout element.  CrossFit has a good methodology of making you do things that you are not comfortable doing, which is always a better workout, and helps you strengthen your areas of weakness.  All of the work was total-body, with an emphasis on constant motion, and speed.  I am already looking forward to Thursday’s workout!

Tonight at the CrossFit Central location, they are putting on a free nutrition seminar.  If you are interested, it will be at the CrossFit Central on Burnet near Koenig Ln at 7:00pm.  I will be there, and hope you will be too.

2 responses to “CrossFit Level I – First Day

  1. We kicked butt, baby! By which I mean it kicked my butt. But I’ll be there on Thursday! Butt butt butt.

    I definitely have room to improve on the 400m runs; those were killer for me.

  2. He lied, he missed the nutrition seminar…

    Nutrition is 90% of the battle!

    Oh, and I was most definitely winded after the “warm-up.” If ‘winded’ can even justify it 😛

Leave a Reply

