The Man-Maker

This morning, we met the Man-Maker for the first time. For those of you who are unfamiliar, the Man-Maker consists of using dumbbells to do a push up, alternating rows, then a clean and press, all in one series of movements.
Here is a video for illustration purposes:

This was one of the toughest workouts I have done since high school off season stuff for football. The set today was a 400m run, 8 Man-Makers, 400m run, 6 Man-Makers, 400m run, 6 Man-Makers. We then finished out with several wind-sprints, and the usual stretching and cooldown. My entire body is definitely feeling it today; my abs, legs, arms, and back are all sore! I definitely need to get off the treadmill, and start running either on the road, or on the track, because it is a different beast entirely. It seems like running 400m on the street is tougher than running a mile on the treadmill for some reason.

It is definitely rewarding to feel so exhausted after just a 45 minute workout. I’m not sure what my caloric burn is during that time, but I’m guessing that it is significantly higher than during my normal daily cardio workout. I love not knowing what my workout will be when I get to the gym in the morning. It alleviates boredom, and eliminates the threat of a plateau. CrossFit has also been serving as a dietary motivator, because I know that if I don’t eat well, I will be paying for it at my next workout.

I’m not certain whether I should eat before or after my daily workout. I have heard conflicting advice on this: some people say that if you workout in the early morning before breakfast, your glycogen levels are lowest, and you will burn stored fat because your carbohydrate stores are depleted; others insist that you will be able to workout more intensely if you eat beforehand. If anyone has links or advice on the topic, please post it to my comments section.

3 responses to “The Man-Maker

  1. My coach wants me to eat something light. Half an apple and a spoonful of peanut butter., or 1/3 of a power bar. Then make sure you follow-up with a protein bar or drink afterwards.

  2. The majority I have read points to a small snack before and after (1B zone ratio) ,then breakfast about an hour after WOD. So, I have been sticking to this.

    But I have seen conflicting information as well.

  3. It depends on you! If you are going to pass out if you don’t have something beforehand, have something! Even some apple juice will get you going without weighing you down much. They used to force us to eat (eggs) before our workouts in college, and I nearly threw them up almost every time. Even now, I don’t feel like I need to eat until 11am daily. I also now hate eggs.

    Listen to your body. That’s the key!

    As for before/after wars: I’ve also heard to follow up with protein within an hour or so of working out. *shrug* I believe that depends on what kind of workout you do, though.

Leave a Reply

