Final Week of Month 1

The final week of the month started off well with Kellen’s birthday party down in Sweeny, TX. We swam, and ate, and drank, and generally had a good time. I (as expected) did not maintain a good diet while out of town. Between grabbing fast food on the long drive there and back, and all of the grilled food, birthday cake, pudding, pancakes, and beer, I definitely got more carbs and calories than I needed to. Hopefully I can get back on my diet as soon as possible.

Today at CrossFit, I definitely got my money’s worth. We did another circuit involving 400m runs:
3 sets of:

  • 400m Run
    21 Kettlebell Swings
    12 Burpee Box Jumps
    12 Ring Rows
  • We finished by holding the plank position (like the top of a pushup, with arms straight) for 1 minute, then resting, and doing it again for 45 seconds. My abs were on fire after that! The Kettlebell Swings were definitely something new, and my torso and back and arms are all feeling it. For those of you wondering, this is what the Kettlebell Swings look like (photos are courtesy of Brass Ring Fitness):
    kettlebell-swing-1
    kettlebell-swing-2
    kettlebell-swing-3
    kettlebell-swing-4

    CrossFit continues to keep me off-guard on my workouts, and leaving me with zero gas in my tank. I will be lucky to recover in time for Thursday’s workout.

    On another note, I took my boxer Cassius to the vet today to be neutered. He was very happy to get an early-morning car ride, and I didn’t have the heart to tell him where we were going, and for what.

    Leave a Reply

    